Burning Daylight Studios

You hear it so many times – follow your bliss, do what you love, make every day count.  In addition to the things I have to do, there just aren’t enough hours in the day to do all the things I want to do.  I’m not getting any younger and I have this anxious feeling that I’m burning daylight – wasting perfectly good productive time not doing all those things I want to do.  My response, with support of friends and family, was to quit my day job of 20 years to become a professional weaver.  So I’ve traded in my desk, databases, and spreadsheets for a 60-year old loom and a bunch of yarn and in the coming months, I’ll be working to transform this into my new place of work.

Studio

Turns out, I have an awful lot of crap, er, stuff.  Useful stuff, sure, but I have to figure out where to put it all.  A large portion of the pile in the corner is yarn – about 20 tubs and 5 large boxes.  So probably enough to keep me busy for a while.  Also, there is all the random equipment I’ll need for the new business.

studio interior

Burning Daylight Studios – why plural, you ask?  There is a second studio inside the studio.  We’ve taken to calling it the mosaic studio – where Mrs. Daylight will toil away at whatever creative endeavor she finds suitable.  Also in a state of disarray.

mosaic studio

And the name comes from the Jack London serialized novel from 1910, Burning Daylight, in which the main character of the same name would roust his gold mining buddies out of bed, claiming that they were burning daylight.

Here’s to Burning Daylight Studios, established 2015.

Leave a Reply

