Yarn Stash – part 1

I might have mentioned I have a lot of yarn. I have everything from miscellaneous balls of yarn to mass quantities of industrial yarn on big cones, super thin to super chunky. Ok, not really, but I do have quite a bit and quite a variety.  Much of it I keep in bins with some sort of labeling so I at least have a vague idea where things are.  Other stuff is just kept on the shelf.

DSC_1422    DSC_1423

So, when I’m designing a rug, I start by just browsing through the yarn I have.  In some cases, I’ve written a list of projects that I would like to do based on some of the yarn I have.  Other times I see what I think will go together and work from there.  One set of yarn I came across, was a series of commercial skeins of yarn whose labels read Old Mill Yarn in a sort of old west font, from Eaton Rapids, Michigan.  The yarn was thick, a little coarse, and with a tight twist to it. It looked like there was enough to make a rug, but I was a little skeptical about the quality of rug it would make.  However, once I began, it really started coming together nicely.

Rug 39.08    Rug 39.06

The yarn gave the rug a rope-like texture, almost like a mat you might have by a door.

Rug 39.07Rug 39.02The color combination worked really well, too.  Originally, I was going to have a fringeless rug, but the header ended up too thick to fold and hem, so fringe it is.

Rug 39.05

I looked up Old Mill Yarns and there is still a company in Eaton Rapids.  It was hard to tell from the website if they still had that same yarn available.  I suppose one day I’ll try to figure that out.  In the meantime, I probably have plenty of supplies to keep me busy for a while.

2 thoughts on “Yarn Stash – part 1

  1. I’d happily have that rug in my home. It’s lovely. What are the dimensions ? Do you know how much yarn you used? I ask because I’ve been buying rug yarn whenever I see it and find it hard to guess what ‘enough yarn’ looks like.

    Like

    • Thank you! The rug is approximately 28 inches by 45 inches, plus 3.5″ of fringe either end. I don’t know exactly how much yarn I used – it was about 4 skeins of each color, with only a little left over. If I had to guess based on pick per inch of rug and yard per pick, I would say maybe 1,200 yards of yarn. Don’t really know what the weight would be.

      Like

Leave a Reply

